Giving to Charity…

http://wealie.co.uk/news-views/when-charities-get-it-wrong/
http://wealie.co.uk/news-views/when-charities-get-it-wrong/

*mobile phone rings*

A ripple of excitement fizzles through the fingertips (my phone doesn’t ring very often).

Mild panic takes over as it doesn’t seem to be in the place where the sound is coming from…. will I get to it in time….

A quick check of the number… one I don’t recognise…oh no it’s not:

“Hello?”

“Hello it’s Sarah from Oxfam I just wanted to give you some information about our latest initiative. Do you have a moment to talk?”

“OK, but I’m not giving you any money”

“That’s ok…. *time passes*…. so would you be willing to donate £5 per month?”

“No, sorry.”

“How about £2 per month?”

Internal monologue… “Come on it’s only £2 per month… but I have bills and debts and kids to entertain… £2 is doable though… but hang on if I say yes to this person they’ll put me on a list and everyone will be ringing me for £2 that’s not doable.”

“Thanks. It sounds like they’re doing some great work but I’ll find some other way to donate.”

Email arrives entitled “charity cake sale on tomorrow!”.

Internal conversation: “Hmmm, must remember to bring in £5 tomorrow to buy cake in the morning, and a container to take some home for the kids.”

Leave a comment